Phil Mickelson Loses His Mind On U.S. Open Putting Green

Kristopher Nichols
June 17, 2018

The incident came on the 13th hole of the third round at the U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills.

When a putt at the 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills rolled past the cup and began slipping down a slope, Mickelson trotted over and batted it back toward the hole before the ball had stopped. "I don't know if I would have been able to save a shot or whatnot, but I know it's a two-shot penalty hitting a moving ball, I tried to hit it as close to the hole as I could to make the next one".

But it's nothing disrespectful to me or to the U.S. Open or anything. "I just finally did".

Although as many more are happy going along with this more light-hearted, tactful approach.

The greens have been a nightmare for the world's best golfers as only one player is under par and numerous game's biggest names failed to make the cut. It appeared that he took 8 strokes before the two-stroke penalty was added.

There was some question as to whether the USGA could disqualify Mickelson under Rule 1-2, which outlaws playing a moving ball to gain a "signifiant advantage".

Egypt 0-1 Uruguay
Egypt's Tarek Hamed (right) slides in for the tackle on Uruguay's Edinson Cavani during their Group A match in Yekaterinburg. Brazilian footballing legend Pele sent a touching tweet to Salah moments before Egypt's World Cup opener.

Italian premier to meet Macron amid migrant row
The contentious issue of how to deal with migrants is expected to dominate an European Union summit at the end of June. Italian Interior Minister Matteo Salvini opposed taking in the refugees and said Malta should accept them.

The first photos from Wonder Woman sequel reveal a major character's return
The universally acclaimed film became a massive hit for Warner Bros., setting a number of records at the box office. Any ideas what shenanigans Wonder Woman is up to in 1984? Wonder Woman is the daughter of Zeus, after all.

"That's the most out-of-character I've ever seen Phil Mickelson", said analyst Paul Azinger.

Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

Mickelson hit his putt while it was still moving and was hit with a two-stoke penalty.

Guess what: He was back the next year at Pebble Beach, where he pumped three shots into the Pacific Ocean on the famed 18th and hit another shot into someone's backyard.

Mickelson admitted post-round he hit the ball prematurely deliberately to stop the ball going off the green again, although did that put him a better position? "He just laughed at me, he had no words to say. It's amusing. I just wanted to get to the next hole and did not see that happening without the two shots".

Other reports by Free-Prsite

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER