RJD wins Bihar's Araria bypoll, bags Jehanabad Assembly seat too

Aaron Brown
March 15, 2018

The results of Lok Sabha by-elections in Araria in Bihar and Assembly by-elections in Bhabua and Jehanabad are slated to be declared today. The party nominee Sarfaraz Alam, who defected from JD (U) days before the bypoll announcement, was leading against BJP's Pradeep Singh by over 40,000 votes by the time this report was published. The BJP polled 4,47,546 votes against RJD's 5,09,334 votes.

Yogi Adityanath, who had represented Gorakhpur seat in the Lok Sabha for five times, winning the last elections in 2014 with a margin of 3.13 lakh votes, resigned from the seat after he was became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Now RJD is leading by 8,899 votes. He also projected himself as a victim of a well-planned conspiracy hatched by the BJP and JD (U) by holding him accused in the land-for-hotel scam. The counting in this constituency was still on.

Counting began at 8 in the morning. By 12.30, Alam took lead again by 455 votes. Final result is expect by afternoon. At the end the difference was of over 61,000 votes.

The RJD fielded Sarfaraz Alam - son of Taslimuddin and a legislator of the ruling JD-U.

In Bihar's Araria parliamentary by election 57 per cent polling was registered.

The result of Araria Lok Sabha seat is still awaited.

Transfer Rumour: PSG eyeing summer move for David De Gea
Former Barcelona team-mate Ivan Rakitic said he would immediately open the door for former team-mate Neymar to return to Camp Nou. Having left Paris shortly after sustaining the injury, Neymar Jr took himself back to Brazil with immediate effect.

Pennsylvania Dem shows party should challenge every election
Still, the election has far greater political consequences as each party prepares for the November midterm elections . Republicans have tried to tie Lamb to Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi , but Lamb has said he does not support Pelosi.

49ers bloggers compiling Twitter lists for all the people Richard Sherman blocked
Richard said, "What if I'm voted to the Pro Bowl and I can't go because we're in the Super Bowl?' We thought, He's right". The former Seahawks cornerback is getting a three-year, $39 million deal that includes nearly no guaranteed money.

Party leaders said Tejashwi had a foolproof strategy to reach out to his party's traditional voters in both the constituencies.

Of around 17 lakh voters in Araria Lok Sabha constituency, there are about 6 lakh Muslim voters, more than 1.5 lakh Yadav voters, around 1.5 lakh non-Yadav OBCs and almost 4 lakh EBC (extremely backward caste) voters. It voted for the Congress till 1984 except during the anti-emergency wave I 1977.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal had the backing of the Congress in Bihar.

The bypoll in Araria was necessitated due to the demise of RJD Member of Parliament (MP) Mohammad Taslimuddin. His switching loyalties did not matter to electorate in Araria. In the Jehanabad assembly seat, RJD's Suday Yadav defeated his Janata Dal (United) rival Abhiram Sharma by more than 30,000 votes.

Tejashwi remained humble as he tweeted that "a win or loss is part of the electoral game" but did take pot shots at the BJP.

The BJP retained Bhabhua assembly seat.

Other reports by Free-Prsite

Discuss This Article