Indian skipper Virat Kohli named ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017

Kristopher Nichols
January 19, 2018

Australian captain Steve Smith was named men's test cricketer of the year, while Kohli took home the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the overall best male cricketer. The 29-year-old thanked ICC for honouring him with the most prestigious award in world cricket. He has 60 wickets to his name for his country in 2017.

"I completely realise that I was severely needed in New Zealand, where it was an opportunity for Pakistan to prove just how good we are, and especially how good we can be in different conditions", Consistency said. India's wristspinner Yuzvendra Chahal taking 6 for 25 to send England crashing from 113 for 2 to 127 all out was adjudged the T20I performance of the year.

Rashid Khan also took 43 wickets in ODIs - which was also a record for an Associate player.

Kohli is the now the second-ranked batsman in Tests, only behind Smith.

Virat Kohli became the only second Indian batsman after Sunil Gavaskar to reach the 900-point mark in the ICC Player Rankings for Test batsmen when the latest charts were released on Thursday (January 18).

Mark Hamill Revealed Final Scene Of Star Wars The Force Awakens
Johnson's depiction of Luke may still be polarizing for many Star Wars fans, but it feels fittingly cyclical. And more importantly, should they change Leia's importance for the finale? All fine.

McCain Sides With Media With Over Trump
President Trump failed to announce his Fake News Awards of the Year, but Chrissy Teigen never misses an opportunity to dress up. On Tuesday, both late-night hosts had some fun envisioning what Trump's first awards ceremony might look like.

Gunmen Kill 2 Police Escorts, Abduct Foreigners Along Kaduna-Abuja Highway
Global Affairs told CBC News that consular officials in Nigeria are in with local authorities to gather additional information. GUNMEN have killed two policemen, while two Canadians were kidnapped along Kafanchan/Kagarko in Kaduna state on Wednesday.

Virat Kohli continued to rule the Test team as well after winning all the Test series during the grand home season of Indian cricket.

He was also named the captain of both the ICC Test and One-Day International teams of the year.

There is no change in the top five all-rounders as Shakib Al Hasan continues to lead followed by Ravindra Jadeja, Ashwin, Ben Stokes and Philander. Quinton de Kock received the accolade for 2016, with AB de Villiers winning it in 2014 and 2015. England pacer Anya Shrubsole's iconic moment of sportsmanship - as she consoled South African skipper Dane van Niekerk - after the teams' gripping Women's World Cup semifinal won her the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

ICC Test team of the year: D Elgar (SA), D Warner (Aus), V Kohli (Ind), S Smith (Aus), C Pujara (Ind), B Stokes (Eng), Q de Kock (SA), R Ashwin (Ind), M Starc (Aus), K Rabada (SA), J Anderson (Eng).

Other reports by Free-Prsite

Discuss This Article